RSS

The Turkey Burrito

19 Nov
The Turkey Burrito

Day number eleventy-nine: I am thankful for vulgar amounts of food that I only eat about twice a year, and complain about having the leftovers for a week after. Also, I’m super excited that come midnight I get to stand in the cold and compete with people for super great deals on stuff I don’t need in the name of baby Jesus.

 That sting a little? I know it reeks of me and my family practice, and really it was covered in self-deprecation, but the fact remains that it is still true, and despite the fact that it kind of hurts my moral convictions, I’m probably going to do little to nothing to change it this year, next year, or anytime in the near future I’d imagine. So why poke myself (and a vast majority of America) with a post like this? Well, I don’t know yet. Maybe that’s something that will get hashed out as I write on. This is just one of those times that the Spirit has come over me and pushed me to start plodding away on my keyboard.

 I read an article last year referring to the holiday season practices of most of us in the Christian world and it convicted me HARD. It was called “The Most Wonderful Sin of the Year” and it came in one of the daily emails I subscribe to. We get to spend little time with our family in the manner in which we should these days due to self imposed hectic schedules and modern day scheduling idolatry and mammon worship, and when we jump into the holiday shift, schedules amp up to make up for the loss of a couple days for Thanksgiving and Christmas. Of course, on those less productive days, we indulge in gluttony that is rivaled only by celebrations like Xerxes 180 day rager he threw prior to divorcing Vashti and starting up his own primitive times version of the bachelor reality tv show. We eat, we consume, we sleep, and then wake up and repeat, in some cases quite a few times over various 48 hour periods.

 Of course, all the while we do get charitable and run in hunger races and pack little boxes of toys for folks all around the world, and that’s great, but is the holiday season the only time we should do this? I don’t think so, but it’s freakin’ HARD to squeeze that stuff into the rest of the year isn’t it? All of that “loving the least of these” stuff is time consuming, emotion consuming work in a lot of cases. It’s just one of those things that continues to knock over tables and crack whips in the center of my brain. So where’s the burrito in all of this? I don’t know that I’m sure, but go ahead and grab a tortilla, spread on some cranberry sauce, throw some sliced turkey and dressing on, top it all off with gravy and wrap it up and enjoy the time with people you love, because community is still important, but remember, don’t even pagans and tax collectors love the folks that are closest to them?

 I’ve had some pretty awesome opportunities to write for some really awesome publications, but down to the original spicy and bigness of the burrito, this is still a blog. So, rambles like this will still show up now and again, but conversation can come from anywhere. So thanks for riding along, and feel free to tangent or drill down for the sake of conversation.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on November 19, 2012 in Ramblings

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “The Turkey Burrito

  1. Lenny Macdonald

    November 20, 2012 at 12:35 pm

    Is it possible that all of these events occur because we are reminded at this time of year the importance of family and generosity to others? Perhaps we handle each of those things a little too off-handedly by just buying something. The Spirit must be in the heart and sincerity cannot be bought at a retailer, or achieved by donating to a charity.

     

Leave a Reply

 
